Black women, feminism and the view from the outside: #solidarityisforwhitewomen

18 Aug

Davena's Deliberations

The following post is one that I wrote for the Women’s Room UK blog:

Votes for Women UK Suffrage Movement

When #solidarityisforwhitewomen first appeared in my timeline I was really curious about what it was. As a Black women, I was worried that it was an attempt to exclude me from the feminist movement. Of course the opposite is true and the hashtag highlights the exclusion Black women currently face within the feminist “movement”.

It reminded me of a trade union course I attended a few years ago. The course was aimed at women activists. When I arrived early I found a seat and started reading the coursework. As the room began to fill up, delegates were free to choose where they sat. There was an ebb and flow of women as delegates arrived and selected their seat before getting coffee or going for a comfort beak. Noise levels started to build as the room…

View original post 535 more words

Leave a Reply

