What happened when I started a feminist society at school

21 Jun

Woman-power symbol (clenched fist in Venus sig...

 

This is the sad history of an school girl who bravely stand out for what is right:

 

” We wanted to challenge sexist behaviour – but we unleashed a flood of abuse from our male peers.

 

I decided to set up a feminist society at my school. However, this was more difficult than I imagined as my all-girls school was hesitant to allow the society. After a year-long struggle, the feminist society was finally ratified.

 

What I hadn’t anticipated on setting up the feminist society was a massive backlash from the boys in my wider peer circle. They took to Twitter and started a campaign of abuse against me. I was called a “feminist bitch”, accused of “feeding [girls] bullshit”, and in a particularly racist comment was told “all this feminism bull won’t stop uncle Sanjit from marrying you when you leave school”.

 

Our feminist society was derided with retorts such as, “FemSoc, is that for real? #DPMO” [don’t piss me off] and every attempt we made to start a serious debate was met with responses such as “feminism and rape are both ridiculously tiring”.

 

The more girls started to voice their opinions about gender issues, the more vitriolic the boys’ abuse became.”

 

You can read the full article here:

 

 

 

What happened when I started a feminist society at school | Education | guardian.co.uk.

 

And if you have a facebook profile, show your support and tick “like it” if you had not yet..

 

Altringham Girls Grammar School | Facebook

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

